Review: The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck

I got the chance to review The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck: A Novel. I wasn’t sure how I was going to like it. I’ve never read the other before. I’m a fan of historical romances, so it’s not like it was a huge hardship or anything, though. I’m always willing to give another author a chance.

I’m glad I did, honestly. I really enjoyed the novel.¬†Kathleen Y’Barbo has a style similar to Diana Palmer. Considering my slight obsession with Ms. Palmer, that’s a total compliment.

Apparently, I missed the first two books in the series (or more), but the novel will truly stand on it’s own. I didn’t feel lost or confused when I read it. I actually am glad that I read it, truly.

I will admit that there were parts where it dragged for me, but honestly, what novel doesn’t have a spot that drags? The writing was spectacular enough in the other areas to make me push through and I was richly rewarded each time.

The novel is split into two time periods. One where the female, Charlotte, and the male, Alex first meet, and a short time, and then the next is four years later.

I don’t want to give away too much of the story, but truly, give it a chance, especially if you like historical romances. It’s worth it, in my opinion.

One response to “Review: The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck

  1. Pingback: Inconveniently problematic romance « On my bookshelf

Leave a Reply

