Daily Archives: September 12, 2011

Starting On Black Dagger Brotherhood

So, it wasn’t a CLEAR winner in the poll, but The Black Dagger Brotherhood by JR Ward was the winner. After that, it was The League by Sherrilyn Kenyon. So, I’ll do Black Dagger Brotherhood first, and then I’ll do the League. That’ll give me PLENTY to read for the next … oh I don’t know … month? 😆

I’ve read the Black Dagger Brotherhood series a few times. Just a few 😉 I’ve read the whole series. Some parts, I’m like “meh”, others I’m like “W00t!!”

Starting tonight, I’ll be reading Dark Lover, the story of Wrath and Elizabeth (Beth). It’s a truly good novel, and a great starting ground.

History and Football

Several weeks ago I bought Dan Rooney: My 75 Years With The Pittsburgh Steelers and The NFL and read it. I’m a Steelers fan and have been for years. I wanted to know more about the organization and the family who’s led it from almost the beginning, as I found out. I never realized that Dan Rooney’s father was one of those who began the league way back when. I found a great majority of the book fascinating. Dan Rooney is a remarkable man and his life has been amazing. I loved reading about how the commissioners of the league had been chosen and the ways each of them affected the ways it grew.

The book was easy to read, though I will admit that I didn’t always understand all the football terminology. However, this did not detract from my enjoyment of the book. The tone was conversational and it was easy to read. I loved hearing about the interactions between the different people involved. Dan Rooney is a fine man and has lived a life that many would dream of. The book ends not long after the hiring of Mike Tomlin as the head coach of the Steelers. I learned a lot of interesting things about the past of the Steelers franchise, like the fact that they once had cheerleaders and that Art Rooney (the first one) was more of a baseball man than a football man for all that he worked to keep the Steelers in the city.

If you would like to know more about how the NFL as we know it today came to be – the different struggles and triumphs – I would definitely recommend this book. Even if you are not a fan of the Steelers, Rooney and the writers do an excellent job of showing how football in the United States evolved without a huge Steelers bias. There is a lot more information on the Steelers since Rooney does love football, the team and the city of Pittsburgh but there is a great deal on the history of the NFL.